
It’s the Law  
It is unlawful to 

operate a motor 

vehicle while under 

the influence of 

alcohol and/or 

drugs. Iowa Code 

321J outlines the 

sanctions that can 

be imposed on offenders. Iowa drivers who 

offend in another state will also be required 

to comply with the civil sanctions in Iowa.  

Penalties 
OWI offenders in Iowa face both criminal 

and civil penalties. The court determines 

what criminal penalties to impose on the 

offender. They often include, but are not 

limited to, jail time, fines, education, 

substance abuse evaluation, community 

service and restitution to victims. In some 

cases, the court may dismiss the case or 

not require the offender to satisfy any 

criminal requirements. State law specifies 

what civil penalties are imposed in order for 

the offender to reinstate their driver’s 

license. 

Driver’s License  

Reinstatement 
If your driver’s license has been revoked for 

any OWI offense under Iowa Code 321J 

(whether as a result of a court order or 

administrative action), the license may not 

be reinstated until you: 

• Satisfy the revocation period. 

• Pay a $200 civil penalty. 

• Present proof of completion of a state 

mandated drinking driver course and 

completion of a state mandated substance 

abuse evaluation/treatment.  

• Meet financial responsibility requirements.  

• Comply with the interlock requirements, if 

applicable. 

• Comply with the 24/7 sobriety program, if 

applicable. 

Drinking Driver Course 

Iowa requires that individuals who offend in 

Iowa or Iowa drivers who offend in another 

state complete a course for drinking drivers. 

Iowa utilizes the Prime for Life 12-hour cur-

riculum. In some cases, the court may allow 

or require you to complete your jail time and 

drinking driver course in one program 

known as the 48-hour program or “weekend 

program.” There are a number of locations 

in Iowa that offer this program. For addi-

tional information visit:  

http://owi.educateiowa.gov. 

If you wish to take the drinking driver course 

in another state, please contact the Iowa 

Department of Education for assistance. 

Iowa does not accept online drinking 

driver courses. 

There is a $37.50 processing fee if you take 

the drinking driver course outside of Iowa. 

This fee is not required if you take the 

course in Iowa. There is a $1.00 

convenience fee for paying online. Payment 

may be made with a money order or online 

with a debit/credit card at: 

https://stateofiowa.seamlessdocs.com/f/

owiadmin 

Substance Abuse Evaluation 

Individuals who offend in Iowa or Iowa 

drivers who offend in another state are 

required to complete a substance abuse 

evaluation performed by a state-licensed 

evaluator/facility and comply with 

recommendations. A listing of approved 

facilities in Iowa can be found at: 

http://owi.educateiowa.gov 

Email OWIIowa@Iowa.gov for assistance 

in locating services in another state or 

complete the Request Assistance Form. 

Documentation - Proof that you 

completed the requirements must be 

submitted to both the court and the state. If 

you offend in a state other than the state 

where you hold a license, you may be 

required to provide documentation to both 

states. Documentation does not 

automatically transfer from one entity or one 

state to another. 

If you complete the drinking driver course 

and substance abuse evaluation/treatment 

requirements in Iowa, your completion will 

be reported to Iowa driver’s license officials 

by the agency that provided the services to 

you. You are responsible for ensuring your 

documentation is sent to the clerk of court of 

the county in which you were arrested. 

If you take the drinking driver course and/or 

evaluation/treatment outside of Iowa, you 

are responsible for submitting the 

documentation to the Iowa Department of 

Education for processing. 

https://educateiowa.gov/adult-career-comm-college/owi-education/owiduidwi-assistance


OWI Offender Checklist 
 

 Have you completed a course for 

drinking drivers? Did you report the 

completion of the course to the state 

and the court? 
 

 Have you completed a substance 

abuse evaluation? Did you report the 

completion of the evaluation to the 

state and the court? 
 

 Was it recommended that you 

complete substance abuse treatment? 

If so, did you complete it, and was it 

reported to the state? 
 

 Have you submitted your civil penalty 

payment to the Iowa Department of 

Transportation? 
 

 Have you submitted your criminal fine 

to the court and submitted probation 

fees/fines to your probation officer? 
 

 Have you served your required jail 

time? 
 

 You may be required to have an 

ignition interlock system installed in 

your vehicle, show proof that you have 

auto insurance liability coverage, 

participate in and comply with the 24/7 

sobriety program, and/or provide proof 

of residency. Contact the Iowa 

Department of Transportation to verify. 

Contact Information 
Iowa Department of Transportation 

Office of Driver Services 

P.O. Box 9204 

Des Moines, IA 50306 

515-244-9124 

Email: ods@iowadot.us  

Fax: 515-239-1837 

Website: Iowadot.gov/mvd/ods/owi.html 

 

 

 

 

Visit MyMVD -- Motor vehicle Information 

Online - Anytime! 

mymvd.iowadot.gov/Account/Login 

 

Iowa Department of Education 

Drinking Driver Program 

400 East 14th Street 

Des Moines, IA 50319 

Fax: 515-725-2014 
 

Website: OWI.educateiowa.gov 
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